No empathy or no information? Autism and empathy

Always different, never less… 🙂

jeanettepurkis

It is just after 7 pm on Autism Day (the United Nations one on 2 April). I have attended two events today, one a Yellow ladybugs art event for girls and teens on the Autism spectrum and their parents / grandparents / carers and the other a panel of clinicians which I chaired. I was very glad to be included in the panel discussion but it was quite challenging. I was the only Autistic voice on the panel and some of the clinicians held views I disagree with and / or find unhelpful. I am giving myself a metaphorical pat on the back for this one as I feel my chairing was positive and professional and I asserted the Neurodiversity / different not less / nothing about us without us sort of perspective quite well.

After the event I spoke to several of the audience members – many of whom…

View original post 820 more words

Leave a Reply

